PLA.deals

Bambu Lab 3D Printers

Last reviewed

Bambu Lab's open A1 mini and A1 pair with the AMS lite and suit PLA, PETG and TPU, while the enclosed P1S moves ABS and ASA onto Bambu's ideal list and the H2D ships with a hardened steel nozzle for fiber-filled and engineering filaments. Decide on materials and bed size first, then compare the live offers under each model.

Right now 8 Bambu Lab PLA listings have and 4 Bambu Lab printers have an in-stock price verified in the last 24 hours.

Bambu Lab official site (opens in a new tab)

Bambu Lab at a glance

Bambu Lab groups its printers into families on its own site: A1, P1, X1 and the newer H2. Every figure on this page comes from a Bambu tech-spec page, a Bambu store parameter table or a Bambu data sheet. Bambu also makes two filament feeders, the AMS lite used by the A1 family and the full-size AMS used by the P1 printers and the H2D, and it sells its own PLA lines such as PLA Basic and PLA Matte. Bambu's filament pages could not be read for this update, so we do not quote temperatures or speeds for those spools.

Which Bambu printer to consider

The quickest way to narrow the range is to ask what you will print, not how fast. Bambu's material wording changes sharply from one family to the next, and that wording is a better guide than the headline speed, which is the same 500mm/s on four of the five machines below.

  • PLA, PETG and TPU on a small desk: A1 mini.
  • The same materials on a full-size bed, with color added later: A1.
  • The P1 platform without a chamber, mainly for PLA and PETG: P1P.
  • ABS and ASA as well as PLA: P1S.
  • Carbon or glass fiber grades, nylon and large functional parts: H2D.

A1 mini

On Bambu's A1 mini tech specs (opens in a new tab) the build volume is 180 x 180 x 180mm, the nozzle reaches 300°C, the bed tops out at 80°C and the maximum speed is 500mm/s. It ships with a 0.4mm stainless steel nozzle, and 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8mm sizes are optional. Wi-Fi and a camera are listed. Bambu calls PLA, PETG, TPU and PVA ideal and places ABS, ASA, PC, PA, PET and fiber-reinforced filament under not recommended. The 80°C bed is no handicap for PLA: Prusament's PLA data (opens in a new tab) asks for a 40 to 60°C bed, for example.

A1

The A1 spec page (opens in a new tab) scales the same recipe up to 256 x 256 x 256mm and raises the bed limit to 100°C. Nozzle temperature, the 500mm/s maximum, the stainless steel nozzle and its optional sizes, Wi-Fi, camera and the material list all match the A1 mini. Choose it over the mini when single parts need more than 180mm in any direction.

P1P

Bambu's US store table for the P1P (opens in a new tab) lists an open frame with a 256 x 256 x 256mm volume, a 300°C nozzle, a 100°C bed, 500mm/s and the same stainless steel nozzle options. PLA, PETG, TPU, PVA and PET are ideal; PA, PC, ABS and ASA are capable. It works with the full-size AMS. That table does not state a filament diameter, so our compatibility checker leaves P1P spool matches as not verified rather than assume one.

P1S

The P1S data sheet (opens in a new tab) describes an enclosed printer with the P1P's 256mm cube, 300°C nozzle, 100°C bed and 500mm/s, plus 1.75mm filament, Wi-Fi and a camera. The enclosure is what changes the material verdict: ABS and ASA join PLA, PETG, TPU, PVA and PET as ideal, PA and PC are capable, and fiber-reinforced filament is not recommended on the stock stainless steel nozzle.

H2D

Bambu's H2D tech specs (opens in a new tab) list 325 x 320 x 325mm for single-nozzle printing and 300 x 320 x 320mm when both nozzles print, an enclosed chamber, a 350°C nozzle, a 120°C bed and a 1000mm/s maximum. The stock nozzle is 0.4mm hardened steel, with 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8mm supported. The material list runs from PLA, PETG and TPU through PC, PA and PET to carbon and glass fiber grades, PPA-CF and PPS. It is the only Bambu model here that ships ready for abrasive spools.

X1 Carbon

Bambu's X1 manual introduction (opens in a new tab) describes a CoreXY motion system, and that is the only specification we could confirm. Bambu no longer publishes an X1 Carbon parameter table on its main site or US store, so ask the seller for the build volume and temperature limits before buying one.

How the Bambu models differ

ModelFrameMax bedMax speedNozzle as shippedABS and ASA per Bambu
A1 miniNot stated80°C500mm/sStainless steelNot recommended
A1Not stated100°C500mm/sStainless steelNot recommended
P1POpen100°C500mm/sStainless steelCapable
P1SEnclosed100°C500mm/sStainless steelIdeal
H2DEnclosed120°C1000mm/sHardened steelListed as supported

Two pairs are near twins. The A1 mini and A1 differ in bed size and bed temperature only; the P1P and P1S differ in the enclosure and the material verdict it unlocks. The H2D is a separate step: hotter nozzle, hotter bed, double the listed speed, two nozzles and a hardened tip.

Competing brands to compare

  • Creality: the K1 family pairs an enclosed CoreXY frame with a hardened steel nozzle and the CFS feeder, a close match for P1S shoppers.
  • Prusa: the Core One is an enclosed CoreXY printer and the MK4S an open bed-slinger, both with optional multi-material units.
  • Anycubic: the Kobra S1 is enclosed CoreXY with the ACE Pro feeder.
  • Flashforge: the AD5X includes a four-channel feeder as standard.

Filament compatibility on Bambu printers

For the AMS lite, Bambu's store lists spools 40 to 68mm wide with a 53 to 58mm inner diameter (opens in a new tab) and says its rotary holder supports paper spools. We found no published spool limits for the full-size AMS, so our checker marks cardboard spools on the P1S and H2D as needing an adapter ring, a respool or the external holder. Fiber-filled PLA is flagged as not recommended on the A1, A1 mini and P1S because Bambu says so for each.

Spool-by-spool checks live on PLA for the A1, PLA for the A1 mini, PLA for the P1S, the H2D filament list and the P1P filament list. When you compare spools, pla.deals divides each offer price by the total net filament weight in the listing, as set out on the price per kg page.

Frequently asked questions

Can the A1 mini use the AMS lite?

Yes. Bambu pairs both A1 models with the AMS lite. The P1P, P1S and H2D use the full-size AMS instead.

Which Bambu printer handles carbon fiber PLA?

Of the models on this page, only the H2D ships with a hardened steel nozzle and lists carbon and glass fiber grades. Bambu marks fiber-reinforced filament as not recommended on the A1, A1 mini and P1S.

Why are there so few X1 Carbon specs here?

Bambu no longer publishes a full parameter table for it on pages we could read. We only print figures that come from Bambu itself, and its manual confirms CoreXY motion and little else we can quote.

Is the P1P enclosed?

No. Bambu's store lists it as an open frame. The P1S is the enclosed version of the same 256mm platform.

More Bambu Lab offers

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.