PLA.deals

ELEGOO PLA Filament: Five Lines and What ELEGOO Publishes

Last reviewed

ELEGOO states a ±0.02mm tolerance on 1.75mm filament and 1kg per spool for all five of its PLA lines, and rates Rapid PLA Plus for speeds up to 600mm/s. The product pages we read did not publish nozzle or bed temperatures, so printer compatibility for ELEGOO PLA stays not verified until those numbers appear on the maker's pages.

Right now 54 ELEGOO PLA listings have and 2 ELEGOO printers have an in-stock price verified in the last 24 hours.

ELEGOO official site (opens in a new tab)ELEGOO support (opens in a new tab)

ELEGOO in brief

ELEGOO sells printers as well as filament. Its site lists FDM and resin printers, post-processing gear, a laser engraver and cutter, resins, and filament grouped as PLA, PETG, TPU and PC, ASA and ABS, and fiber reinforced. That means ELEGOO filament pages often speak to owners of ELEGOO machines first, and some figures, like the speed claims on Rapid PLA Plus, are framed around ELEGOO's own Neptune printers.

What ELEGOO publishes clearly is the physical side of the spool: diameter, tolerance, weight per spool and, for most lines, the spool material. What the product pages we read left out is the thermal side. There is no nozzle or bed temperature in the page text for any of the five lines below, which is the main thing to know before comparing ELEGOO with brands that print full settings tables.

Which ELEGOO lines suit which buyer

Whatever printer you own, the temperature for an ELEGOO spool will come from the label or box and from your slicer's material profile rather than from a range on the product page. That is workable, but it means you cannot compare ELEGOO lines against each other on heat before buying.

  • PLA for general printing on a cardboard reel.
  • PLA Plus for buyers who want ELEGOO's modified formula; the page mentions a lower printing temperature but gives no number.
  • Rapid PLA Plus for fast printers, since it is the only ELEGOO line here with a stated speed.
  • PLA Matte and PLA Silk for surface finish.

PLA

ELEGOO's PLA page (opens in a new tab) states 1.75mm filament at ±0.02mm, 1kg per spool and a cardboard spool. ELEGOO offers a printable filament ring for loading its cardboard reels into an AMS, explaining that the AMS rubs the paper edge and can cause it to delaminate. There is also an RFID version of this line in the type selector.

PLA Plus

The PLA Plus page (opens in a new tab) gives 1.75mm at ±0.02mm and 1kg per spool, and carries the same filament ring note for AMS users. The spool material is not stated outright on the page. ELEGOO also lists a 10kg multi-spool pack of this line; our 10kg PLA page covers how packs like that compare.

Rapid PLA Plus

On the Rapid PLA Plus page (opens in a new tab) ELEGOO rates the filament for speeds up to 600mm/s, with 1.75mm at ±0.02mm, 1kg on a cardboard spool and the AMS ring note. The same page also quotes a lower speed achieved on ELEGOO's own Neptune 4 series, which is a more realistic reference for a bed slinger.

PLA Matte

The PLA Matte page (opens in a new tab) lists 1.75mm at ±0.02mm, 1kg per cardboard spool and the AMS ring note. No speed or temperature is published. A 5kg bundle is sold as a separate product.

PLA Silk

ELEGOO titles this product Silk PLA, and the PLA Silk page (opens in a new tab) gives 1.75mm at ±0.02mm and 1kg per spool. The spool material is not stated, and the listed empty spool weight is heavier than the cardboard reels on the other lines, so expect a different reel.

Where the ELEGOO lines split

On paper, the five lines are nearly identical: the same diameter, the same tolerance, the same 1kg fill. The differences ELEGOO documents are the finish (standard, matte, silk), the formula label (PLA versus PLA Plus) and one speed rating, on Rapid PLA Plus. Spool material is confirmed as cardboard for PLA, Rapid PLA Plus and PLA Matte and left unstated for PLA Plus and PLA Silk.

When you compare ELEGOO against other brands in the grid, the price per kg column helps: pla.deals divides the offer price by the total net filament weight across every spool in a listing, so a 5kg bundle and a single 1kg spool sit on the same scale. More on that in our price per kg explainer.

Other brands to consider

  • SUNLU matches ELEGOO's ±0.02mm tolerance and adds a full nozzle, bed and speed table on every PLA page.
  • Overture publishes a nozzle range, bed range and 300mm/s ceiling for its PLA, PLA+ and Matte PLA.
  • eSUN offers plus, matte, silk and high speed lines and an AMS adapter for its cardboard reels, similar to ELEGOO's ring.

Compatibility and suitability notes

Every ELEGOO line in our data is marked not verified on all twelve printers we track, from the Bambu Lab A1 to the Creality K1 Max. That is not a warning that ELEGOO PLA fails on those machines. It means our rules only raise a filament to compatible when the maker's published nozzle range fits the printer, and ELEGOO's pages did not give one.

For AMS owners the documented issue is the cardboard edge. ELEGOO's own advice is to fit its printable ring, and our AMS PLA page explains the spool limits Bambu publishes for the AMS lite. K1 owners interested in Rapid PLA Plus can read our K1 PLA page for how stated speed ratings interact with a 600mm/s printer.

Frequently asked questions

What nozzle temperature does ELEGOO PLA use?

The ELEGOO product pages we read did not state one. Use the range printed on the spool or box, or the ELEGOO profile in your slicer.

Can ELEGOO cardboard spools go in a Bambu AMS?

ELEGOO recommends its printable filament ring, because the AMS can wear the paper edge until it delaminates.

Is Rapid PLA Plus really a 600mm/s filament?

That is ELEGOO's stated upper limit. The same page gives a lower figure on its Neptune 4 printers, which is a safer starting point.

Why is ELEGOO marked not verified on pla.deals?

Our compatibility rules need a published nozzle range. Without one, no ELEGOO line can be confirmed, whatever its real behavior on a given machine.

More ELEGOO offers

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.